96 Charter members 23/34

A step forward for university mental health and wellbeing: 96 universities embark on 23/24 University Mental Health Charter Programme

The commencement of the 2023-2024 University Mental Health Charter (UMHC) Programme marks a significant step towards improving mental health and wellbeing support across UK Higher Education Institutions. With an exciting 95% Programme Member retention rate and a notable 57% increase in membership compared to 2022-2023, the 2023-2024 UMHC Programme is excited to welcome 96 Charter programme members 23/24 committed to continual improvement in mental health and wellbeing support.  

We are also pleased to announce that the UMHC Programme membership now extends to include the representation and participation of institutions from Northern Ireland, Scotland and England. 

The UMHC Programme builds on the Charter Framework by supporting member institutions as they work towards embedding the Principles of Good Practice. The voluntary, membership-based Programme assists these institutions in improving their whole-institution approach to supporting student mental health and wellbeing by cultivating a UK-wide network of peer support and practice-sharing. Participating in the Programme offers members a range of valuable opportunities, including in-person and online practice and insight-sharing sessions, one-to-one meetings with Student Minds and the option to undertake the UMHC Award. The UMHC Award is an optional accreditation scheme which recognises institutions that have embedded a whole university approach that is effective in their context.

For more details about the UMHC Framework, Programme, or Award, please visit our website.

Welcoming Charter programme members 23/24, the 96 institutions are: 

AECC University CollegeSolent University
Anglia Ruskin UniversityStaffordshire University
Arden UniversityTeesside University
Arts University BournemouthThe University of Huddersfield
Aston UniversityThe University of Law
Bath Spa UniversityThe University of Leeds
BIMM UniversityThe University of Manchester
Birkbeck, University of LondonThe University of Northampton
Birmingham City UniversityUniversity of East London 
Bishop Grosseteste UniversityUniversity College London
Bournemouth UniversityUniversity of Bath
Brunel University LondonUniversity of Bedfordshire
Buckinghamshire New UniversityUniversity of Birmingham
Canterbury Christ church universityUniversity of Bolton
City, University LondonUniversity of Bradford
De Montfort UniversityUniversity of Bristol
Durham UniversityUniversity of Cambridge
Edge Hill UniversityUniversity of Central Lancashire
Falmouth UniversityUniversity of Chester
Glasgow Caledonian University**University of Derby**
Harper Adams UniversityUniversity of Essex
Hartpury University**University of Exeter
Imperial College LondonUniversity of Gloucestershire
King’s College LondonUniversity of Greenwich
Kingston UniversityUniversity of Hertfordshire
Lancaster UniversityUniversity of Hull
Leeds Beckett UniversityUniversity of Kent
Leeds Trinity UniversityUniversity of Leicester
Liverpool John Moores UniversityUniversity of Lincoln
London Academy of Music & Dramatic ArtUniversity of Liverpool
London Business SchoolUniversity of London
London Metropolitan UniversityUniversity of Nottingham
London Southbank UniversityUniversity of Oxford
Loughborough UniversityUniversity of Reading
Luminate Education Group: University Centre Leeds and Leeds ConservatoireUniversity of Sheffield
Manchester Metropolitan UniversityUniversity of Southampton
Middlesex University LondonUniversity of Suffolk
National Film and Television SchoolUniversity of Sunderland
Newcastle UniversityUniversity of Surrey
Northeastern University LondonUniversity of Sussex
Northumbria UniversityUniversity of the Arts London
Nottingham Trent UniversityUniversity of West London
Oxford Brookes UniversityUniversity of the West of England, Bristol
Plymouth Marjon UniversityUniversity of Westminster
Queen Mary University of LondonUniversity of Winchester
Queen’s University BelfastUniversity of Worcester
Royal Holloway University of LondonUniversity of York
Royal Veterinary College
Sheffield Hallam University

** Signifies the institutions who supported us in the 2020 UMHC Programme Pilot

Related Articles

Universities Achieve University Mental Health Charter Award 

At Student Minds, we are delighted to celebrate the third wave of institutions that put themselves forward for the University Mental Health Charter Award Assessments. Pursuing the Award is a statement of a universities commitment to improvement and development of better practice in university mental health. 

We are pleased to announce the following Universities have achieved an Award at the 2024 Winter Award


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *